My Twitter Hashtag #MeetTheAuthor

#MeetTheAuthor  @Walkinparks

Karine Green http://www.amazon.com/Karine-Green/e/B00BWTY0JU
When and why did you begin writing?

I have always loved writing. I have tubs full of journals, printouts, and old M.S. Publisher newsletters that I used to play around with. My daughter’s favorite is a folder of old notebook paper with different scenes that were written to ‘match’ my favorite tunes.

My favorite is my composition books of stories to match the paintings that I saw in doctor’s offices. If you follow my WALK IN THE PARK blog you will know I spend a lot of time in doctor’s offices. But, those are not the visits these stories are from. When my son was born, he had a heart problem; thankfully he is okay, but I used to spend hours and hours at the pediatric cardiologist’s office. There were paintings hung around the waiting room, so to entertain myself I would write stories or make up goofy headlines about them.

When did you first consider yourself a writer?I used to staple together little booklets to color and draw stories when I was in first grade- does that count?
What inspired you to write your first book?I have been asked to write about my career in police work. Apparently women are still considered a rare jewel in law enforcement. However I really hate rehashing the cases I worked. For one thing they involve real people, who suffered some really terrible things in their lives, and some of them were innocent – some were not.

After watching a few episodes of Twilight Zone, one featuring a genie, I began to sort through some of my old police journals and write new stories. This time I wrote them using the genie to make my desired outcome happen. This was a way to write about my police career without publicizing anyone’s tragedy, or embarrassing them with a situation they may have had no control over. The genie also allows for the release of my feelings of helplessness and  frustration with situations that left me little or no judgment as to the outcome.
How did you come up with the title?

A Genie’s Point of View – none of the stories are told from the master’s point of view. It is all the Genie’s point of view. These stories are basically a hodge-podge of short stories that are sewn together to make a running story featuring the genies as the central characters. The master’s story wrap up with the end of each chapter. For the genie, each master becomes more and more difficult for the genies to handle as they attempt to learn the most difficult of all life lessons – self forgiveness. It also answers a question I have had for a long time: What if a genie made a wish? If you like sweet romance  based in fantasy you’ll like this story.

The Caine Plantation – I used to answer unending burglar alarms at an old plantation house. This house was very rich with all its local legends and stories (some true, some obviously not). The entire book is inspired by this house and the people who for some reason thought it necessary to trespass there. The name Caine is after sugar cane – although the inspiration house was a thoroughbred and tobacco farm. The name Marissa Caine seemed better than Marissa Tobacco. This is a sweet romance with a lemon twist of thriller. Purchase here

The Great Losing; The Mad Dragon Kingis inspired by a fairy tale that the genie in my first novels told a little girl. I had no idea it so closely matched the Chinese fairy tale, The Four Dragons. I kept building out from those two foundations. It is named The Great Losing because my grandmother said World War II was more of a Great Losing – because not one nation was the same after the war. Her concept of the losing of national innocence is directly behind the title.  Purchase here

 What are your current projects?

Re-Writing the Genie’s Point of View books. Now that I have some experience under my belt they seem out of place to me in comparison with my newer works. If you have purchased one in the past, the new version should upload automatically from Amazon without charge. It will be significantly different from the original. If you purchased it elsewhere, such as Smashwords or Kobo, you can contact me through their sites for updated copies.

I also have three completed storylines for novels in final editing;

One is a third Genie’s Point of View, Featuring the genies Allison and Joe as ‘fairy godparents’ who torment parents. This is a fantasy novel with the focus on rescue as Joe comes to terms with a major loss.

The second is a prequel, of sorts, to the Mad King. It is called the Lilac Princess. Princess Agni must choose between her people and her father, the Evil Blood King. She is the Crown Princess of nation that is descending into a civil war that only she can stop, or lead. If you like fantasy/adventure with strong female leads you’ll like this story.

The last one is Ptah’s Puzzle. The Egyptian God Ptah moved someone who was about to die. His desire is to save this persons, but he sets off a chain reaction so complicated that even he is mind boggled by it. Will he be able to stand against the Goddess of Order, Ma’at to solve this puzzle, or will she restore order and cost one more than one human being their life. Time travel ability or not, time is running out for Ptah to correct the situation in sweet romance fantasy. Will they all get their happily ever after?
Do you see writing as a career?

Of course, I would love to. I work at writing in the form of my novels, grant writing, and my Walk In the Park blog. I also take English and Literature classes on a regular basis to bolster my skills and branch out into new areas of writing and publishing.
Do you recall how your interest in writing originated?

It has always been there. I am just glad I had those major hip surgeries and couldn’t walk for a while. It forced me to sit down and start perfecting my writing.
Can you share a little of your current work with us?

Sure, here is a link for the first chapter of The Lilac Princess.
Do you have any advice for other writers?

Don’t stop writing. Writing is a skill that needs to be practiced. Don’t let bad reviews scare you away from writing and letting other people read it. Without feedback it’s really difficult to strengthen areas of your writing. Above all accept that you will find a typo or a terrible sentence! You’ll find them no matter how many times you read it. The only possible way to get better is to put your work “out there” and accept the reviews and advice that come your way. This will allow each book to become better and better.
Do you have anything specific that you want to say to your readers?

Sometimes all the crappy stuff that happens in our life really are the biggest blessings you could ever hope for.

Leave a Reply

